Struggling with Meaninglessness

searching meaning in meaninglessness

3 Types of Genius

with 9 comments

I’m very fascinated with genius. This is my observation of genius’ area of talent.

Intellectual Genius – Genius who provide solutions to tackle world problems and societal advancement such as physicists, philosophers, inventors, mathematician, technologists, scientists, etc.

Artistic Genius – Genius who are artistically gifted to fascinate the world such as artists, musician, poets, writers, designers, singers.

Skilled Genius – Genius who excel in sports, gaming and skilled work. Tennis, football, golf , drivers, dancing, and PC strategy games.

I always believe you can never make yourself to be a genius. Either you are born a genius, or you are not.

Written by elan85

November 23, 2007 at 1:41 am

Posted in Philosophy

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think if you try hard enough are extremely determined and persist you CAN become a genius… But maybe only in certain areas like memory.

    John

    April 23, 2008 at 1:51 pm

  2. You don’t become a genius, you uncover genius abilities. Most people can. You need to
    train your brain to get rid of the inhibitions you collect through the years. Most people protect their ego’s by giving up on themselves early. They take the path of least resistance and settle into the behaviors people close to them will approve of.
    This idea that genius can be categorized into 3 areas is fair. I’ve noticed, though, that genius tends to be spread over the 3 groups. For example, Tiger Woods is obviously the best golfer ever. But his cognitive skills are probably right up there.
    Personally, I have genius talents in art and music. Still, I have been at the top of my class whenever I wanted to-college, high school, etc… I also excelled in sports. I work in construction now, and I have mastered my trades beyond anyone I know. The last one took years, but through effort, thought, and combining all my intelligences I succeeded.
    The point is, you should teach yourself from what you know and carry that knowledge to other tasks.

    Nate

    June 21, 2008 at 7:04 am

  3. I am quite confident that I was not born a genius, for when I emerged from the womb, I must say that I exhibited very few intelligent traits. I babbled, I drooled, I had no language skill what so ever, I couldn’t play and instrument, and I imagine that if I had attempted to play a PC strategy game, I would have simply opted to gnaw on the keyboard. Of course that is in jest, but no, I do not believe that you are either born a genius or you are not.

    For Intelligence: Deep Meditation on the little things
    For art: Remember your childhood
    For skill: Practice

    There is no visible difference between the genius of a natural, the genius of the heavily inspired, and the genius of the overly studied.

    And the funniest thing is: You can choose to be any one of them, no one will know the difference.

    Mike

    January 5, 2010 at 7:20 am

  4. I noticed your blog when I was browsing for something entirely different, but this post came up as a top result, your blog must be incredibly popular! Keep up the awesome job!

    Cheryl Mulholland

    February 3, 2010 at 9:58 am

  5. Perhaps the three types in EJ364901 would help…

  6. The truth is that we are all geniuses, we all have the equipment. We can realize our genius through a process in our brains called Nero-plasticity which is basically the ability to make new neurological connections in the brain. Some people are born with more connections than others but can loose connections over time dew to not using them, so the difference with normal people and what we call genius is will power.

    Water Web Design LLC

    December 25, 2011 at 7:17 am

  7. Agh. You’re wrong. It’s not that you are either born a genius or not.

    Genius has something to do with intelligence. As most people conceive genius with precocity, we’re more likely to believe that the younger or earlier a person masters their talent, the more genius. However, those so called prodigies were merely gifted with their intelligence early on, and so they had that advantage to LEARN those skills early on as well. However, all people’s intelligence develops anyway, when given the right environment.

    In this case, I see “intelligence” as some sort of capacity. And the more of that capacity they have, the more they are able to do this: they look at something being done and then they figure out how it is done. Not in a split second, but rather, a continuous feed that is emitted from the the thing that they are observing, which is itself a major source of information. I noticed this habit in most of the people around me. Actually, I’m still in high school, and us young people seem to do it all the time. Not that they would tell you they are doing it, for I just observe other people a lot… But anyway, I can see it.

    For example, I as a kid would look at certain puzzles (not picture-priented ones, like jigsaw puzzles, rather, patterned ones, like rubik’s cubes) and then I seem to get a clue on how to solve it, somehow at a glance. Some I have completed, in others I have come close. I also noticed in kid-cousins that are exposed to video games early on, even do it better than an adult (assuming the adult had spent more time/had more experience on the video game). Whatever, we all know that children are the fastest learners, especially when it comes to new fields!

    I agree with (Water Web Design LLC), some people are born with more connections than others. It is only in whether these connections are either given attention, or if they are failed to use. I bet I was born with a lot of them, my dad is utterly neurotic, but neurotic can be cultivated into something positive…

    Lastly, I also agree with Nate. Emphasis please on “getting rid of the inhibitions you collect through the years”. It may not seem obvious, but that bit is important. Also, “The point is, you should teach yourself from what you know and carry that knowledge to other tasks” is called “fluid intelligence”. People with more fluid intelligence are generally the ones who find it easier to learn and excel in a variety of trades, rather than just one.

    Excuses for the rant. 🙂

    Dane

    February 18, 2012 at 11:38 pm

  8. Thanks for this awesome article, it helped me a lot 😉

    Roger William

    June 25, 2012 at 5:17 am

  9. I think that we are all capable geniuses but we need to use far more than the average 10% of our brains by constantly loading it with new areas of knowlege followed by intense practising of each to master it.

    Sybies

    July 24, 2016 at 6:32 am


Leave a Reply

